GICC Local Government Committee (LGC)

Parcels map


Local governments add value to their local datasets by sharing them with state agencies for statewide compilations such as NC Parcels. The purpose of the Local Government Committee is:

  1. To advise the N.C. Geographic Information Coordinating Council on issues, problems and opportunities related to GIS within local governments in North Carolina.
  2. To inform local government users of geographic information about the status of GIS activities in the state, GIS efforts in state government and the actions of the GICC.

Associations Represented on the LGC

The LGC is comprised of one representative from each of the following organizations:

  • Association of Regional Council Executive Directors
  • Carolina Chapter of the Urban and Regional Information Systems Association
  • N.C. Association of County Commissioners
  • N.C. Chapter of the American Planning Association
  • N.C. League of Municipalities
  • N.C. Local Government Information Systems Association
  • N.C. Property Mappers Association
  • N.C. Geographic Information Coordinating Council (appointment by the chair)

The Value of GIS – Are You on the Map?

Have you told your story that highlights the value of GIS in your local government in North Carolina?

A story map features local governments' award-winning uses of geospatial data and tools, with maps, graphics and brief narratives. Local governments in North Carolina are invited to enter and click the blue “participate” button and add graphics and text to tell stories about the ways GIS meets needs and informs decisions. 

ESRI Master Purchase Agreement

The N.C. Department of Information Technology signed an Enterprise License Agreement with ESRI in effect through June 30, 2018, which includes a master purchase agreement for local governments.

Committee Information


Name Representing Title Organization Phone
Crystal Burnett (Vice Chair) NCPMA Tax Support Specialist Brunswick County 910-253-2829
Pam Carver CURISA Land Records Supervisor Henderson County 828-698-3031
Josh Norwood NCLGISA GIS Manager Pender County 910-259-0129

Todd Shanley

GICC Chief Information Officer Cabarrus County 704-920-2838
Aarti Sharma N.C. ARCED Senior Planner Centralina COG 704-385-7556
Ben Strauss NCACC Senior GIS Analyst Wake County 919-856-6383

Natalie Walton-Corbett

NCLM IT, GIS Coordinator City of Greenville 252-329-4108

Alice Wilson (Chair)

APA-NC GIS Coordinator City of New Bern 252-639-7588
LGC Appointments        
Statewide Mapping Advisory Committee    
Marcus Bryant   GIS manager City of Durham 919-560-4122
Alice Wilson   GIS coordinator City of New Bern 252-639-7588
Board on Geographic Names      
Amy Durden   GIS coordinator Elizabeth City 252-337-6628
Technical Advisory Committee      
Tobin Bradley   System architect Mecklenburg County 704-464-4736
Hydrography Working Group    
Marlena Isley   GIS manager Alamance County 336-570-4102
Wright Lowery   GIS analyst Wake County GIS 919-856-6393
Working Group on Orthoimagery and Elevation    
Stephen Dew   GIS manager Guilford County 336-641-7583
Josh Norwood   GIS manager Pender County 910-259-0129
Natalie Walton-Corbett   IT, GIS coordinator City of Greenville 252-329-4108
Working Group for Roads and Transportation    
Greta Bumgarner     Catawba County  
Harry Lee Currituck County  
Working Group for Seamless Parcels    
Pam Carver   Land records supervisor Henderson County 828-697-4692


View upcoming GICC events.

Past meetings with associated materials: Past GICC events

Bylaws and Work Plans

Local government agencies in North Carolina are major users of GIS technology and are developers of geospatial data. The LGC serves as a forum for organizations that represent local government GIS users and data producers in the state. The LGC prepares an annual work plan that directs the work of the committee and documents its accomplishments.

Newsletters and Other Documents


If there are issues or concerns that you would like the LGC to address, please contact the chair, elected by the members of the LGC.

Current Chair: Alice Wilson 252-639-7588

Staff Support: Anna Verrill 919-754-6593 and Tim Johnson 919-754-6588