2022 Reference Frame Working Group


The 2022 Reference Frame Working Group reports to the Statewide Mapping Advisory Committee, which operates under the authority of the N.C. Geographic Information Coordinating Council. The charter for the working group states that it will:

  • Evaluate the impact of replacing NAD83 and NAVD88 with geometric and geopotential (4D1) reference frames on state and local governments and the surveying and mapping industry
  • Recommend practical solutions for implementation of the 2022 Reference Frame


Member Name From Representation as in Charter
Alex Rankin NCSS NC Surveyors Society
Andy Zoutewelle NCBELS NC Board of Examiners for Engineers and Surveyors
Charlie Brown NCDOT Additional Member
Dave Zilkoski Former Director, NGS Additional Member
David Giordano CGIA (Staff to Committee) Center for Geographic Information and Analysis
Gary Thompson Chair, NCDPS-Geodetic Survey Chair
Vacant NCDPS State Government GIS Users Committee of the GICC
Jeff Essic NCSU Library North Carolina State University Library
Vacant NCDOT, Photogrammetry Additional Member
Kristian Forslin N.C. Railroad NC Chapter of the Urban and Regional Information Systems Association
Matt Wellslager S.C. Geodetic Survey Additional Member
Rich Elkins N.C. Secretary of State NC Property Mappers Association
Scott Lokken National Geodetic Survey Additional Member
Silvia Terziotti U.S. Geological Survey Federal Interagency Committee of the GICC
Stacey Smith Professional Engineers of North Carolina Professional Engineers of North Carolina
Tom Morgan Private Citizen Additional Member
Stephen Dew Guilford County GIS Local Government Committee of the GICC