N.C. 911 Board Welcomes Three New Members


The North Carolina 911 Board swore in three new members during its meeting in Pittsboro, Sept. 27.

The new members are Verizon Wireless’ Senior Manager of Verizon Response Earl Struble, Sprint’s Indirect Director for the Mid-Atlantic Stacey Gonyer, and Wilkes Communications/TriCounty Broadband/RiverStreet Networks’ Vice President of Business Development Greg Coltrain.

Struble and Coltrain were appointed by Speaker of the House Tim Moore. Struble will represent NC Licensed Commercial Mobile Radio Service (CMRS) providers and Coltrain will represent NC Licensed Local Exchange Carrier providers with less than 50,000 access lines, respectively.

Gonyer was appointed by President Pro Tem Phil Berger and will represent NC Licensed CMRS Providers. Each term will expire Dec. 31, 2020.

The 17-member board is responsible for policies and procedures for wireline and wireless 911 communications in the state and administers the state’s 911 Fund used to support equipment purchases for the 127 public safety answering points (911 centers) in the state.

The board is part of the N.C. Department of Information Technology and is chaired by Eric Boyette, chief information officer and secretary of the department.

This press release is related to: