First PSAP Certification Class in State Graduates at NC 911 Board Meeting Online certificate program offers classes in operations, technology

Hamlet, NC

The first graduates of North Carolina’s new Public Safety Answering Point (PSAP) Manager Certification Program graduated today and will be using their new education to help run 911 centers across the state.

The 28 graduates were presented their certificates today at the North Carolina 911 Board’s monthly meeting at Richmond Community College, which offers the program. The PSAP Manager Certification Program consists of five classes, each taking five weeks to complete. Students cover the history of the 911 system and the NC 911 Board, budgeting, finance, human relations, operations and technology, at absolutely no cost to students. This effort was a result of requests from PSAP managers across the state for specific training about North Carolina’s 911 system and state laws.

“This has been a great collaborative effort between the North Carolina 911 Board and the North Carolina Community College System to fill an educational void had by the men and women in charge of our 911 centers,” said Richard Taylor, Executive Director of the NC 911 Board.

The graduates are:

  • Christi Colbert-Yadkin County
  • Stephanie Conner - Surry County
  • Allen Cress - Rowan County
  • William Gibbs - Lincoln County
  • Ronald Hall - Stokes County
  • Wanda Hall - Jackson County
  • Kevin Hardy - Town of Boone
  • Monica Howard - City of Havelock
  • Bridget Klein - Town of Boone
  • James Lambert - Gaston County
  • James McGuinn - Polk County
  • Marty McGuinn - Polk County
  • Tricia McKnight - Hoke County
  • Tobie McPherson - Pasquotank County
  • Allen Moore - City of Rocky Mount
  • Chanda Morgan - Haywood County
  • Tammy Myers - Davie County
  • Teresa Ogle - Madison County
  • Laura Piche - Orange County
  • Rodney Pierce - Davie County
  • Valecia Pike - Columbus County
  • Ronald Rombs - Lincoln County
  • Myron Shelor - Gaston County
  • William Smith - Richmond County
  • Misty Tabor - Swain County
  • Mark Von Behren - City of New Bern
  • Nancy Williams - City of High Point

The next class session begins in February and a second level of classes is being developed.

In addition to attending the graduation, the board approved nearly $2.9 million in grants for 911 centers in Iredell, Robeson and Wilson counties.

Iredell County will receive $2.36 million towards a new $17.3 million public safety center, including a new radio tower and technology upgrades. The new public safety center will include other agencies and will serve as a regional backup for Wilkes and Alexander counties.

Robeson County 911 was awarded $339,065 to improve its 911 center and purchase backup center radios. Wilson County 911 will receive $157,913 for a radio console and upgrades to the primary and backup 911 centers.