GICC Members

Name Title Organization Representing Phone
Members Appointed by the Governor
Hope Morgan, GICC Chair GIS Specialist/Project Manager AECOM - 919-461-1369
Steve Averett GIS Manager City of Greensboro N.C. League of Municipalities 336-373-2057
Paul Badr President, Geospatial Division GPI - 704-251-8402
Jeremy Baynes Computer Scientist U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Federal Government  
Jason Hedley Department Manager Colliers Engineering & Design - 919-238-4425
Martin McCracken Special Deputy Attorney General Department of Justice -  
Allen Serkin Executive Director Cape Fear Council of Governments Assoc. of Regional Council of Governments 910-395-4553 x206
Linda Ann Thurman Director for Student Professional Development and Employer Relations University of North Carolina at Charlotte - 704-678-5024
Vacant - - Assoc. of County Commissioners -
Members Appointed by the President Pro Tempore of the Senate
L.V. Pokey Harris Executive Director N.C. 911 Board -


Matthew Helms Senior Business Analyst Charlotte Water - 704-564-9354
Bill Shankle   Tri South Commercial Realty    
Members Appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives
Amy Barron Manager - GIS, Centralized Design & Residential Development Duke Energy - 704-382-4196
Jason Dowdy GIS Software Engineer CACI, Inc. -  
Stan Duncan   Private Citizen - 828-606-4577
Other Members by Statute
Gary Thompson, GICC Vice Chair NCGS Chief, NC Geodetic Survey Department of Public Safety - 919-948-7844
David Baker Director of Tax and Revenue Outreach N.C. Association of County Commissioners - 919-715-4365
Bob Coats Governor's Census Liaison Office of State Budget & Management - 984-236-0687
John Cox FIS Manager Department of Administration - 984-236-0287
Dianne Enright Manager, Health & Spatial Analysis Unit Department of Health and Human Services - 919-715-4473
Dean Grantham IT Project Manager Department of Environmental Quality - 919-707-8961
Joanne Halls Director, Spatial Analysis Lab University of North Carolina, Wilmington UNC System 910-962-7614
Dan Kempton IT Enterprise Architect Department of Information Technology -  
Elaine F. Marshall Secretary of State Department of the Secretary of State - 919-814-5305
Christopher Nida Director of Research & Policy Analysis N.C. League of Municipalities - 919-715-3945
Allan Sandoval GIS Specialist Department of Commerce - 919-715-1575
Tony Simpson Director, Local Government Division Department of Revenue - 919-814-1135
Ed Spitler Distinguished Professor N.C. Community College System - 910-695-3797
Brooks Tate Pipeline Safety Inspector Public Utilities Commission - 919-733-8818
Christian Vose ISS Director, Emergency Programs Department of Agriculture & Consumer Services - 919-707-3289
Natalie Walton-Corbett GIS Coordinator City of Greenville - 252-230-0609
James Weaver Secretary and State Chief Risk Officer Department of Information Technology - 919-754-6000
Melanie Williams Division of Water Resources GIS Coordinator Department of Environmental Quality - 919-707-3703
Eric Wilson GIS Manager Department of Transportation - 410-302-1325
Vanessa Wrenn  Chief Information Officer  Department of Public Instruction - 984-236-2945
Advisory Members (Appointed by the Council Chair)
Sarah Koonts Director of Archives and Records Department of Natural and Cultural Resources - 919-807-7339
Tim Johnson N.C. Geographic Information Officer Center for Geographic Information and Analysis - 919-754-6588