Donate to Hurricane Recovery

Multi-Factor Authentication

Service Description

Multifactor authentication (MFA) is a security system that combines two or more methods of authentication from independent categories of credentials to verify the user’s identity for a login or other transactions. In MFA each additional authentication factor is intended to increase the assurance that an entity involved in communication or trying to access an application or system is who, or what, they are declared to be.

The three categories of authentication factors are often described as:

  1. Password: Something you know
  2. Token: Something you have
  3. Biometric: Something you are

The MFA solution for North Carolina state government offers enhanced protections and helps to deliver strong security via a range of secondary authentication methods, including mobile apps, phone calls, text messages, third-party software and physical tokens.

The MFA solution will support the scale and availability required by the state to service its customer’s most critical applications through distribution of the MFA solution across the state data centers.



  • MFA is essential in addressing the state’s security and compliance requirements.
  • MFA integrates with numerous modern applications and across many platforms.
  • The MFA service is highly reliable and scalable, supporting high-volume mission-critical applications.
  • Agencies can integrate one or more of their applications into the MFA solution.
  • Agencies can delegate administration to one or more application owners to manage MFA for their users.



North Carolina Departments, Agencies and Executive branches


Service Support

The DIT Service Desk operates 24 hours a day and seven days a week, offering a single point of contact for all customer inquiries related to DIT services for North Carolina state government. DIT Service Desk agents provide business and technical infrastructure analysis, problem solving, and first- and second-level diagnostics.

Hours of Operation

DIT services are available 24 x 7, excluding planned outage maintenance windows and unavoidable events. Maintenance windows are used only when needed for planned changes that have gone through the DIT Change Management Process. In addition to standard DIT maintenance windows, site-specific changes may be coordinated with customers at non-standard times.

DIT Standard maintenance windows include:

  • 4-7 a.m. every Thursday
  • 4 a.m. to noon every Sunday

Any service maintenance windows outside these standard windows are documented in the service-specific SLA.


Contacting Support and Ticket Escalation

The DIT Service Desk is the single point of contact for initiating all Incidents and Service Requests, including any requests for ticket escalation. Assistance may be reached at (919) 754-6000, toll free at 800-722-3946 or by accessing the DIT Service Portal. The Business Relationship Manager assigned to your agency is available to address any questions regarding DIT Services, processes or information technology business needs.


DIT Global Service Levels

The DIT Global Service Level document includes information on Incident and Service Request handling and Change Management.


How Do We Charge?

View Billing Rates for this Service

DIT Communications Hub

Visit our Customer Communication Hub to self-register for communications regarding this service and to view Service Status. To register for Communications Hub emails, click on “Notifications” on the upper left of the Communications Hub screen, then click on “Notification Subscriptions.” 

  • If you are not able to access the DIT Communications Hub, contact the DIT Service Desk at (919) 754-6000 or file a ticket in the DIT Service Portal.


Next Steps

To subscribe to the MFA service, contact the DIT Service Desk at (919) 754-6000 or 800-722-3946, or file a ticket in the DIT Service Portal. A member of the MFA Operations Team will contact you to discuss your requirements.