

Ν

Members on Phone	Staff on Phone	Others on Phone
Randy Beeman	Richard Bradford	Cliff Brown
David Bone	Stephanie Conner	Chad Deese
Greg Coltrain	Kristen Falco	Cindy Johnston
Allen Cress	Tina Gardner	Chanda Morgan
Chuck Greene	Pokey Harris	Corinne Rust
Len Hagaman	Gerry Means	Jeff Shipp
Melanie Neal	Stanley Meeks	Derek Terry
Candy Miller	David Newberry	Jennifer Thompson
	Marsha Tapler	Joey Webb
	Sarah Templeton	Doug Workman
	Angie Turbeville	Donna Wright

1. Roll Call –

The meeting was called to order at 1:00 pm by David Bone. Sarah Templeton proceeded to call the roll.

2. Executive Director Opening Remarks -

Pokey Harris thanked everyone for joining and advised the PATs had been very busy as there was a full agenda for the Funding Committee.

3. Chairs Opening Remarks –

David Bone wished everyone a Happy Telecommunicator Week and expressed his thoughts and prayers for Melanie Neal who was going through some personal challenges.

4. Approval of March 2021 Minutes (Vote Required) -

David Bone requested a motion to approve the March 2021 Funding Committee Meeting minutes after no suggestions were made for revisions. Motion was made by Candy Miller to approve, second by Melanie Neal. Motion carried.

Approval of March 2021 Funding Committee Minutes		
Committee Member	Vote to Approve	Vote to Not Approve
Randy Beeman	Y	
Jason Barbour <i>(Not Present)</i>		
David Bone	Y	
Greg Coltrain	Y	
Allen Cress (Not Present for Vote)	~	X
Chuck Greene	Y	
Len Hagaman	Y	
Del Hall <i>(Not Present)</i>		
Melanie Neal	N N	
Candy Miller	Y	
Stephanie Wiseman (Not Present)	$\langle \rangle$	

5. Legislative Update -

Richard Bradford mentioned House Bill 492 which covers PTSD worker's comp for telecommunicators but had no other updates to report.

6. Mt. Holly Police Department High Fund Balance Re-Evaluation (Vote Required)

During the December NC 911 Board meeting, the Board voted to withhold distributions for FY2022 for seven PSAPs who had a fund balance at the end of FY2020 300% or more over their yearly distribution, with the opportunity for funding to be reinstated should the PSAP provide updates to their technology plans to reflect how the fund balance would be spent down no later than March 31st, 2021. David Newberry presented Mt. Holly's updated technology plan to the Funding Committee. Based on staff's review, Mr. Newberry noted the technology plan update did not address enough of Mt. Holly's fund balance for staff to recommend reinstatement of funding for FY2022, and his recommendation was to withhold FY2022 distributions. Motion was made by Candy Miller to support staff's recommendation, second by Allen Cress. Motion carried.

Approval of Mt. Holly PD High Fund Balance Re-evaluation		
Committee Member	Vote to Approve	Vote to Not Approve
Randy Beeman	Y	
Jason Barbour <i>(Not Present)</i>		
David Bone	Y	N
Greg Coltrain	Y	
Allen Cress	Y	
Chuck Greene	Y	
Len Hagaman	Y	
Del Hall (Not Present)		
Melanie Neal	Y	
Candy Miller	Y	
Stephanie Wiseman (Not Present)		

7. Pineville PD High Fund Balance Re-Evaluation (Vote Required) -

David Newberry presented Pineville Police Department's submitted technology plan update. Based on review by staff, Mr. Newberry noted the updated technology plan did not address enough of Pineville's fund balance for staff to recommend reinstatement of funding for FY2022. Staff recommendation was to withhold FY2022 funding distribution. Motion made by Melanie Neal; seconded by Allen Cress. Motion carried.

Approval of Pineville PD High Fund Balance Re-evaluation		
Committee Member	Vote to Approve	Vote to Not Approve
Randy Beeman	Y	
Jason Barbour (Not Present)		
David Bone	Y	
Greg Coltrain	Y	
Allen Cress	Y	
Chuck Greene	Y	
Len Hagaman	Y	
Del Hall (Not Present)		
Melanie Neal	Y	
Candy Miller	Y	
Stephanie Wiseman (Not		
Present)		

8. Haywood County Seat Count Increase Request (Vote Required) –

Stephanie Connor presented Haywood County's request to increase their base seat count from four funded positions to eight. Staff reviewed the PSAPs staffing levels and call volume. During review, Haywood's call volume was compared to that of similarly sized PSAPs, as well as PSAPs with eight approved seats. Based on Haywood's 911 call volume, it was staff's recommendation to not increase Haywood's base seat count, but to approve one overflow position, for a total of five approved positions in the primary (4 base seats sand 1 overflow position). Melanie Neal advised based on the staff's findings, she agreed with staff's recommendation, and made a motion to approve staff's recommendation; seconded by Chuck Greene. Motion carried.

Approval of Haywood	County Seat Count	Increase Request
Committee Member	Vote to Approve	Vote to Not Approve
Randy Beeman	Y	
Jason Barbour (Not Present)		
David Bone	Ŷ	
Greg Coltrain	Y	
Allen Cress	Y	
Chuck Greene	Y	
Len Hagaman	Y	
Del Hall (Not Present)		
Melanie Neal	Y	
Candy Miller	Y	
Stephanie Wiseman (Not		
Present)		

9. Sampson County Funding Request (Vote Required) -

Angie Turbeville presented the Funding Committee with a letter from Sampson County requesting their distribution not to be reduced for the upcoming FY2022. Sampson County was awarded a grant in 2021 to build out a new PSAP and provided detail if funding were to be decreased, they would not have enough funds to continue with outfitting their new PSAP, in addition to updating end of life equipment in the currently functional Primary PSAP. Staff recommend to not reduce Sampson County's distribution for FY2022. Motion was made by Chuck Green; seconded by Allen Cress. Motion carried.

Approval of Sampson County Funding Request		
Committee Member	Vote to Approve	Vote to Not Approve
Randy Beeman	Y	
Jason Barbour <i>(Not Present)</i>		
David Bone	Y	
Greg Coltrain	Y	
Allen Cress	Y	
Chuck Greene	Y	
Len Hagaman	Y	
Del Hall (Not Present)		
Melanie Neal (Not Present)		
Candy Miller	Y	
Stephanie Wiseman (Not		
Present)		

10. Proposed FY2022 Budget Presentation (Vote Required) -

.

Marsha Tapler presented the proposed budget for FY2022. Chuck Greene pointed out legislation had changed regarding allotment for CMRS providers and made a motion to approve the budget, with a change to the allocation of the CMRS fund to include only the amount requested by the CMRS providers. The motion was seconded by Len Hagaman. Motion passed.

Approval of Proposed FY2022 Budget Presentation		
Committee Member	Vote to Approve	Vote to Not Approve
Randy Beeman	Y	
Jason Barbour (Not Present)		
David Bone	Y	
Greg Coltrain	Y	
Allen Cress	Y	
Chuck Greene	Y	
Len Hagaman	Y	
Del Hall (Not Present)		
Melanie Neal (Not Present)		
Candy Miller	Y	
Stephanie Wiseman (Not		
Present)		

11. Funding Reconsideration Report

Marsha Tapler reported staff was waiting on documentation needed from the PSAPs who had requested funding reconsiderations in order to move forward with the requests.

12.PSAP Report Status Update

Kristen Falco advised all FY2018 revenue expenditure reports had been finalized and provided status updates for the FY2019 and FY2020 Revenue Expenditure Reports.

13. Closing Remarks

David Bone thanked the Funding Committee members for their decisions and participation in the meeting. PROVED BY HUNDING

The meeting was adjourned at 2:28 pm.