Tracy S. Doaks

Tracy S. DoaksSecretary & State Chief Information Officer

As state chief information officer and secretary for the N.C. Department of Information Technology. Tracy Doaks leads the state agency responsible for all IT procurement, state cybersecurity, operational services, broadband infrastructure, solutions division, data analytics center, the N.C. 911 Board and strategic IT planning.

She joined NCDIT in November 2015 and served as chief deputy state chief information officer and chief services officer until her appointment as state CIO in February 2020.

Prior to NCDIT, Doaks worked for Duke Medicine as senior director of service delivery. Her primary responsibilities included providing leadership and oversight in the execution and delivery of application and infrastructure services for all of Duke’s hospitals, clinics, School of Medicine and School of Nursing.

Doaks previously worked for the state of North Carolina as assistant secretary of IT and chief information officer for the N.C. Department of Revenue, where she led all aspects of strategic IT planning, implementation, operations, support and risk management. In addition, her past work experience also includes managing clinical informatics and analytics at Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina and developing systems at Accenture.

Doaks earned a Bachelor of Science in industrial engineering from North Carolina State University and then went on to earn her CIO certification from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Government. Additionally, she received the 2018 Public CIO Award from NC TECH and the 2016 Distinguished Alumnus Award from North Carolina State University's Edward P. Fitts Department of Industrial and Systems Engineering.

In addition to chairing the N.C. Information Technology Strategy Board, Doaks is chair of the MCNC Advisory Council and also serves on the boards of the CORRAL Riding Academy, Triangle Technology Executive Council and Association of IT Professionals. She is also on N.C. State's Computer Science Strategic Advisory Board.